Today I had a Search Service Application that lost its crawl database. So I tried to remove it from Central Administration from GUI with “remove data” checked. The dialog started running for at least an hour and I have decided to kill it. So, I have tried using the Powershell with command Remove-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceApplication. No luck

Ok, then I tried Stsadm -o deleteconfigurationobject -id GUID. Still no luck.

Solution is quite simple. Reboot your server (I am sure that there is some timer job that I can kill to avoid rebooting) and remove service application from powershell via Remove-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceApplication or STSADM command. Avoid going to Central Administration.

To get the ID of your Search Services Applications use Get-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceApplication powershell cmdlet and mark ID value.

